Mobile navigation Home page

Announcement of the 2020 Pulitzer Prizes

Announcement of the 2020 Pulitzer Prizes

The winners of the prestigious Pulitzer Prize were announced. In the Letters and Drama (Fiction) category, the prize went to Carlson Whitehead for his novel "The Nickel Boys". This is the second award for the American writer, in 2017 he received the Pulitzer Prize for his book "Underground Railroad".

The winners of awards in the Letters and Drama category: Letters and Drama

Fiction "The Nickel Boys" by Colson Whitehead (Doubleday)

Drama "A Strange Loop" by Michael R. Jackson

History "Sweet Taste of Liberty: A True Story of Slavery and Restitution in America" by W. Caleb McDaniel (Oxford University Press)

Biography "Sontag: Her Life and Work" by Benjamin Moser (Ecco/HarperCollins)

Poetry "The Tradition" by Jericho Brown (Copper Canyon Press)

General Nonfiction "The Undying: Pain, Vulnerability, Mortality, Medicine, Art, Time, Dreams, Data, Exhaustion, Cancer, and Care" by Anne Boyer (Farrar, Straus and Giroux)


"The End of the Myth: From the Frontier to the Border Wall in the Mind of America" by Greg Grandin (Metropolitan Books)

Music "The Central Park Five" by Anthony Davis, premiered by Long Beach Opera on June 15, 2019

The Pulitzer Prize has been awarded since 1917 for outstanding achievements in journalism, literature and music.

Sign up